Which university has the most Heisman Trophy winners? 


As the 2021 Heisman Trophy gets underway, we should be wondering which college football program has the most Heisman winners.

Since Nick Saban took over as head coach of the Alabama Crimson Tide, it seems an Alabama player has at least joined the general discussion about the Heisman Trophy on a fairly regular basis. Crimson Tide has another player joining Heisman this year, midfielder Bryce Young, and there’s a very good chance he’ll win it this year.

But Alabama doesn’t have the most Heisman winners in history. Even if Young can take home the highest award in college football with him, Alabama will have only four Heisman winners in its history.

So, which team has the most Heisman wins in history? Well, there is indeed a tie for first place in this category.

Which school has the most students winning the Heisman Trophy?

Topping the list are the Oklahoma Sooners, Ohio State Buckeyes, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, and each show has seven Heisman winners to celebrate.

The seven winners of the Oklahoma Heisman Prize were Billy Vessels in 1952, Steve Owens in 1969, Billy Sims in 1978, Jason White in 2003, Sam Bradford in 2008, Baker Mayfield in 2017, and Kyler Murray in 2018.

Notre Dame’s seven winners were Angelo Bertelli in 1943, John Lujack in 1947, Leon Hart in 1949, John Lattner in 1953, Paul Hornung in 1956, John Huarte in 1964 and Tim Brown in 1987.

Ohio State winners were Les Horvath 1944, Vic Janowicz 1950, Howard Cassady 1955, Archie Griffin 1974 and 1975, Eddie George 1995 and Troy Smith 2006. Some might argue that Ohio State only six winners like Griffin have taken home the award in consecutive seasons, but they’ve had a total of seven trophies in the show’s history.

Many also argue that USC Trojan also has seven Heisman winners, but there’s a bit of controversy there because of the NCAA.

The winners of USC were Mike Garrett in 1965, OJ Simpson in 1968, Charles White in 1979, Marcus Allen in 1981, Carson Palmer in 2002, Matt Leinart in 2004 and Reggie Bush in 2005. However, for very good reasons. controversially, the NCAA staunchly refused to admit that Bush won against Heisman because it was ultimately lost due to an NCAA scandal.

But he won it.

If Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud becomes the recipient of this season’s Heisman Award, the Buckeyes would top the list with eight winners in show history.

It will be interesting to see how things turn out and who will bring home Heisman this year.

For more Football NCAA FanSided’s unique news, analysis, opinions and coverage, including Heisman Trophy and College football tournament charts, be sure to bookmark these pages.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here